Thunderbolts: Once an Avenger... back again

"Once an Avenger..." The Avengers 1 (February 1998)
"The Call" The Avengers 2 (March 1998)
"Fata Morgana" The Avengers 3 (April 1998)

Summary: Iron Age sorceress Morgan LeFey draws the Avengers together specifically to bring the Scarlet Witch into her power. Using Wanda's abilities, LeFey is able to draw the Twilight Sword, an Asgardian artifact that lets her bend reality. The Avengers find themselves trapped in a Camelot-like world, with LeFey as its Queen.

Lots of Avengers: the Beast, Binary (Carol Danvers), the Black Knight, the Black Panther, the Black Widow, Captain America, Crystal, Darkhawk (who?), the Falcon, Firebird, Giant-Man (Hank Pym), Hawkeye, Hercules, the Hulk (briefly), Iron Man, the Sandman, the Living Lightning, D-Man, Machine Man, Moondragon, Namor the Sub-Mariner, Photon (Monica Rambeau), Quasar, Quicksilver, the Scarlet Witch, Sersei, She-Hulk, Spider-Man, Spider-Woman (Julia Carpenter), Starfox, Stingray, Tigra, Thor, U.S. Agent, the Vision, the Wasp and Wonder Man. Also: New Warriors Justice, Firestar, and Rage; Mordred; Moon Knight; Magdalene; and the Swordsman of an alternate dimension.

Continuity: The Avengers reform following the Return of the Heroes. Although it is never explicitly stated, Ogur's attack in Manhattan ("Life Lessons", 1997/12/01) was an early harbinger of LeFey's attack.

Comments: Beautiful and sweeping, with dialogue just snappy enough to distract you from the derivative storyline.

Previous Thunderbolts Next
Previous Barton Next
TOC * Home

This page was revised on February 4, 2006

Comments? Corrections? Make Contact